SEE NO COLOR wins more praise

SLJ logo

School Library Journal (SLJ) writes, for their October edition:

Gibney, Shannon. See No Color. 192p. ebook available. Carolrhoda Lab. Nov. 2015. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9781467776820.

Gr 9 Up–For Alex Kirtridge, a 16-year-old transracial adoptee in Madison, WI, the topic of race has always been off-limits. Her white adoptive parents valiantly pretend not to see her as different in any way from their two biological children, yet she is treated as “other” by both black and white classmates. Alex tacitly agrees not to rock the boat, avoiding uncomfortable questions and devoting herself to being the star of the baseball team coached by her father, a former minor league player. But a stash of secret letters and a romance with an African American boy precipitate a journey of cultural and emotional exploration for Alex, forcing her to confront difficult truths about her adoptive and birth parents. The honest emotions in this coming-of-age novel will resonate with many readers who are grappling with finding a sense of belonging. Without lecturing readers, Gibney clearly elucidates many issues particular to transracial adoption and biracial identity while also making this a universal story about the need for acceptance. The sports content offers added appeal and a meaningful framework for the plot. At times the book seems to be taking on too much, but both major and secondary characters are well drawn and engaging. This thoughtful novel adds a much-needed perspective on a subject that affects many families but is rarely covered in YA fiction. VERDICT Recommended for purchase, particularly by libraries serving less diverse communities, where it will provide welcome education and support.–Laura Simeon, Open Window School Library, WA

—————————————————————————

Booklist header

Booklist writes, for their October 15 edition:

See No Color.

Gibney, Shannon (Author)

Nov 2015. 192 p. Carolrhoda/Lab, hardcover, $18.99. (9781467776820).

Biracial adoptee Alex Kirtridge’s life revolves around baseball. Her adoptive father, a former pro ballplayer and high-school coach, glories in her athletic aptitude, far superior to that of his birth children. But though Alex’s family loves her, they continue to ignore the obvious, important fact of her African American heritage; her father describes her as “half white,” and her mother never learned to care for Alex’s hair. But when Alex meets Reggie, a sweet and sexy black ballplayer from another team, and discovers a trove of letters from her birth father, she is faced with a classic teen conundrum: who is she, really, and what is she going to do about it? Though the ending feels a bit rushed, the details ring true, due at least in part to the fact that Gibney is herself a transracial adoptee. As much about character and human dynamics as it is about baseball, this makes an excellent pick for fans of Mike Lupica and Catherine Gilbert Murdock.

— Ariel Zeitlin Cooke

——————————————–

Sarah Hannah Gomez also has a thoughtful piece on white discomfort around dealing with race and difference, as expressed in the novel. You can read it here.

Fellow local “Kid Lit” author Kurtis Scaletta also offered an insightful analysis of some of the book’s main themes on his blog.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s